Regional Associations

How can you be more involved in your own community of teachers of English?

The answer is to join an already existing regional association or create a new one. So that you are supported in your profession, NZATE encourages the development of regionally based associations for the teaching of English.

The list of contact associations and contact people listed below is always changing. We would appreciate information to ensure that this list is kept up-to-date. Please contact us with any details we need to update.

TTATE

Tai Tokerau Association of Teachers of English

Secretary: Monique Vanstokkum
monique.vanstokkum@pompallier.school.nz


AATEL

Auckland Association for Teachers of English Language)

Contact: David Taylor
dtaylor@northcote.school.nz


NARATE

North Auckland Regional Association for the Teaching of English

Chair: Shirley Closey
sclosey@ashs.school.nz


SAATE

South Auckland Association for Teachers of English http://saate.webs.com

Chair: Desire Truter
TRD@edgewater.school.nz

Secretary: Jo Sanson
SA@waiuku-college.school.nz


HBETA

Hawkes Bay English Teachers’ Association

Chair: Amy Price
aprice@karamu.school.nz


CREATE

Central Region Association of Teachers’ of English

Contact: Katie Blackett
katie.blackett@putarurucollege.school.nz


BATE/EPOBATE

Bay of Plenty / Eastern Bay of Plenty

Contact: Yvette Isherwood
isherwoody@trident.school.nz


PETA

Plateau English Teachers’ Association

Contact:


WRATE

Wellington Regional Association of Teachers’ of English

Contact:Mark Edgecumbe
medgecombe@tawacollege.school.nz


NETA

Nelson English Teachers’ Association

Contact:Jessica La Bas, Garin College
jessicalebas@cloud.garincollege.ac.nz


CETA

Canterbury English Teachers’ Association

Chair: Anita Yarwood
ayarwood@avonside.school.nz 


TIMARU 

English Teachers’ Association    

Contact: Rosalind Bennett
ros.bennett@xtra.co.nz


OATE

Otago Association of English Teachers

Contact: Jo Mullenger
mg@kingshigh.school.nz


SETA

Southland English Teachers’ Association

Contact: Laurel Swann
lswan@jameshargest.school.nz